Chief Master Sergeant Jeremy L. Unterseher

Chief Master Sgt. Jeremy L. Unterseher is the Command Chief Master Sergeant for Fifteenth Air Force, Shaw Air Force Base, South Carolina. He advises the commander and staff on matters influencing the health, welfare, morale and effective utilization of all assigned personnel. Fifteenth AF organizes, trains, and equips its subordinate commands to prepare for and execute expeditionary taskings. Additionally, Fifteenth Air Force commands 13 wings and three direct reporting units in the U.S., ensuring the operational readiness of about 800 aircraft and more than 47,000 active duty and civilian members.

CMSgt Unterseher entered the Air Force in August of 1995 and graduated from Navy School Explosive Ordnance Disposal in June 1996. His background includes various duties in the Explosive Ordnance career field at unit, MAJCOM, and HAF levels. He has also served as an assistant first sergeant, squadron superintendent, and as the senior enlisted advisor to the Deputy Chief of Staff for Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration. His assignments have stretched across all theaters of operation to include deployments in support of Operations SOUTHERN WATCH, IRAQI FREEDOM, ENDURING FREEDOM, and RESOLUTE SUPPORT

2009 Senior Enlisted Joint Professional Military Education Course, by correspondence
2010 Professional Manager's Certification, CCAF, by correspondence
2013 AFSO 21 Executive Leader Course, Knoxville, Tenn.
2014 Bachelor in Emergency and Disaster Management, American Military University
2018 Master's in Strategic Studies, Air War College, Maxwell AFB Ala.
2019 Leading Strategically, Center for Creative Learning, Colorado Springs, Colo.
2020 Baltic Region Command Senior Enlisted Leader Course, Baltic Defence College, Tartu Estonia

1.  July 1996–September 1999, EOD Journeyman, 86th Civil Engineer Squadron, Ramstein AB, Germany
2.  September 1999–September 2000, EOD Journeyman, 8th Civil Engineer Squadron, Kunsan AB, South Korea
3.  September 2000–October 2002, EOD Craftsman, 1st Civil Engineer Squadron, Langley AFB, Va.
4.  October 2002–December 2007, EOD Craftsman, 325th Civil Engineer Squadron, Tyndall AFB, Panama City, Fla.
5.  December 2007–February 2011, NCOIC EOD Logistics, 56th Civil Engineer Squadron, Luke AFB, Ariz. 
6.  February 2011–May 2013, Superintendent, EOD Flight, 509th Civil Engineer Squadron, Whiteman AFB, Mo.
7.  May 2013–June 2016, EOD Functional Manager, HQ Air Mobility Command, Scott AFB, Ill.
8.  June 2016–July 2017, EOD Program Manager, AFIMSC Detachment 8, Langley AFB, Va.
9.  July 2017–May 2018, Student, Air War College, Maxwell AFB, Ala.
10.  July 2018–July 2019, Senior Enlisted Advisor, Deputy Chief of Staff A10, Headquarters AF, Washington, D.C.
11.  July 2019–June 2021, Command Chief, 435th Air Ground Operations Wing/435th Air Expeditionary Wing, Ramstein AB, Germany
12.  June 2021–July 2023, Command Chief, 31 Fighter Wing, Aviano AB, Italy
13.  July 2023–Present, Command Chief, 15th Air Force, Shaw AFB, S.C.

Legion of Merit with one oak leaf cluster
Bronze Star Medal with two oak leaf clusters Defense Meritorious Service Medal
Meritorious Service Medal with five oak leaf clusters Joint Service Commendation Medal
Air Force Commendation Medal with three oak leaf clusters Joint Service Achievement Medal
Air Force Achievement Medal with two oak leaf clusters

1997 86th Civil Engineer Squadron Airman of the Year
1998 86th Civil Engineer Group Airman of the Year
1999 Distinguished Graduate, Airman Leadership School Leadership Award, Airman Leadership School
2001 1st Civil Engineer Squadron Major General Lupia Award
2001 1st Fighter Wing Lance P. Sijan Award
2003 John L. Levitow Award, Non-Commissioned Officer Academy
2006 325th Civil Engineer Squadron NCO of the Year
2009 56th Fighter Wing Lance P. Sijan Award
2009 AETC CMSgt Daniels Award
2009 56th Civil Engineer SNCO of the Year
2010 Distinguished Graduate, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Academy
2010 CMSgt Renfroe Commandant’s Award, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer Academy

Chief Master Sergeant – Dec. 1, 2013

(Current as of April 2024)